About Wood Awards

From more than 200 projects entered, this year’s shortlist of 32 for the Wood Awards unveils the diverse, creative, and high-quality buildings and furniture being made using the world’s only truly sustainable and renewable material – wood. Established in 1971, the Wood Awards is the UK’s premier competition for excellence in architecture and product design in wood. The competition is free to enter, and recognises, encourages, and promotes outstanding wood design, craftsmanship and installation. The independent judging panel visits all the shortlisted projects in person, making this a uniquely rigorous competition. The Awards are split into two main categories; Buildings and Furniture & Product.



The buildings judging panel is led by Jim Greaves of Hopkins Architects. The panel includes Andrew Lawrence, Arup; Kirsten Haggart, Waugh Thistleton Architects; Nathan Wheatley, engenuiti; David Morley, David Morley Architects; architectural journalist Ruth Slavid; Jonas Lencer, dRMM; and Andy Trotman, Timberwright.


The furniture and product panel is led by design critic, curator and journalist Corinne Julius. The panel includes Oliver Stratford, editor of Disegno magazine; Rod Wales of Wales & Wales; and previous winners Yael Mer of Raw-Edges, Eleanor Lakelin, and Sebastian Cox.


Award Partners

American Hardwood Export Council

Carpenters’ Company

Timber Development UK

Major Sponsors

American Softwoods

Zublin Timber


Timber Development UK

Sign up to our mailing list